At No. 142

Tomorrow I will start painting again. I have been taking some online tutorials by Carol Marine on Daily Paintworks ArtBytes.

Expect to paint at least 500 paintings before you are consistently proud of your work, or paint for 10,000 hours. Even then … expect some bad days. ~ From “My Take on Daily Painting” ArtByte by Carol Marine

Carol is talking about the 10,000 Hour Rule. Which is the idea that it takes 10,000 hours of deliberate practice to master a skill. So, if each daily painting takes approximately 2 hours (which mine do) I should reach “expert” level by the 500th painting. I have completed 142 paintings and tomorrow will be my 143.

My goal for this year is to paint 208 paintings. For the remainder of March I want to complete 8. By the end of the year I will have 350.

To celebrate I decided to splurge on myself by ordering this panel holder. When I paint on my small panels (6×6 and 8×8) it gets kind of hard to keep them in place on a large easel. This nifty panel holder should solve the problem. Can’t wait to use it! Check it out here.

2 thoughts on “At No. 142

  1. Please forgive me for this 🙂
    I read this post when you wrote it. I was describing it to my husband last night and I realized the math is off. 2*500=1,000 not 10,000

Leave a Reply

