my palette

As I was setting up my palette the other day I thought I might share it with you. When I work with acrylics I use the Masterson Sta-Wet Palette.

This is a great palette for keeping you acrylic paints wet and workable for quite some time. There is a little bit of prep work involved.

There is a sponge that you place at the bottom of the palette. You need to get it soaking wet, but not too wet and lay it in the bottom of you palette box. You also need to soak your palette paper for at least 15 minutes or more before placing it over your sponge.

Add your paint and you’re ready to go!

I have laid out Naphthol Red Medium, Hansa Yellow Medium, Ultramarine Blue, Phthalo Green (Blue Shade), Burnt Umber Light, and Titanium White. To mix black I use Ultramarine Blue and Burnt Umber Light.

The palette also comes with a lid. So, when you’re finished with you painting session or take a break you put the lid on and when you return the paints are still really wet.

I like this palette, but it does take some getting used to when you mix your paints on a soft, spongy surface. The palette paper does also become colored when you apply the paints, which is something I’m not super fond of. Another thing I don’t like is that the paint can seep through the paper and stain the sponge. I haven’t tried washing my sponge out with soap, so that might help that problem.

I do also use this palette with just a piece of regular disposable palette paper. When I do this I spray the paint puddles really well while I am painting and when I leave my painting session. I also use a household sponge and just set it in the palette box and seal it off with the lid.

Leave a Reply

