it only took a year

“Snowy Night”
© 2010 Heather Hingst Benett
12″ x 12″ mixed media on stretched canvas

I started this painting on December 1, 2009 and just finished it yesterday.

As I look back at the year I feel I have been pulling myself in too many different directions. I love creating my non-representational quilts, but I also love to work figuratively. Especially in a whimsical way. I think I’ve figured out a way to do both, but not only how to, but to allow myself do both.

Why is this such a conflict?

Mainly because the art world likes it when you to do one particular thing.

Deidre Adams sums it up best:

By now, it seems we are expected to have settled on a particular media and theme that we want to pursue to the exclusion of all others. This idea is reinforced by the art world in general and the gallery system in particular: once you become known for doing a particular thing, major changes to your style and methods are done at your own peril. Society likes to be able to neatly categorize things, and if you want to sell your work, you need to figure out which box you can be put into.

Quote from Deidre’s blog post “Opportunity Cost.”

I don’t know why this is the norm for the art world. I guess it’s to show you’re committed and if patrons start collecting your art they don’t want you to change with every whim you may have.

Anyway…I’m excited about the new year that’s just around the corner. I’m going to be making changes to my blog, Web site, art, etc.

But for now I’m putting on my Santa’s Elf hat and getting to work in my studio making gifts for family.

Leave a Reply

