painting on paper

gathering my supplies

I have recently decided to try selling my paintings on ebay. The results have been a little discouraging, “Fugi Trio” sold for $1.04 and “Just A Slice” sold for 99-cents, but I’m not going to give up yet! These paintings are on stretched canvas, which probably cost me about $4.50 for just the canvas. I’m not really complaining, I’m just trying to make a name for myself on ebay. I have a feeling that if I keep selling overtime the bids will get higher. I just have to get a little bit smarter.

So, I’m going to be doing some painting on paper. That way it won’t hurt so bad if a painting sells so low.

I’m painting on hot pressed watercolor paper that I prepare with a coat of gesso.

painting collaged backgrounds

These are going to be mixed-media cake paintings and for this group I’m creating a collaged background of vintage images. I actually purchased these images a few years ago from Rebecca Sower (I’m so glad I’m finally using them!). I am using Golden Extra-Heavy Gel (Matte) medium to glue the pieces down. Over the top of my collaged background I apply a coat of Golden Soft Gel (gloss) medium. This protects the images and will allow me to wipe paint away from areas. (You’ll see what I mean soon.)

So that’s where I’m at with the projects. I have a total of 4 collaged backgrounds ready to go for tomorrow and the under-painting of a cake with no collaged background.

One thought on “painting on paper

Leave a Reply

