Prepare to Dye!

Dye Supplies
Dye Supplies

Today I gathered my dye supplies and reviewed my fabric dyeing process. My process is a combination of The Lazy Dyer, Melody Johnson, and “Color By Accident” by Ann Johnston.

I will be using Fiber Reactive Dyes that I purchased from Dharma Trading Co. The colors I will be using are:

  • #1 Lemon Yellow
  • #10 Fire Red
  • #13 Fuchsia Red
  • #25 Turquoise
  • #44 Better Black

With this dye batch I hope to achieve a mottled, scrunched look. I’m not going for solid solids.

Other surface techniques I plan to try this summer are: paint, resist, batik and shibori.

I hope to have lots of yummy colors to show you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

