TECHNIQUE | How I go from design wall to quilt block

First I take the block or area of the quilt I am working on and transfer it to my cutting area. This is when I line it up and do any last minute tweaking.

Then I cut out my crossbar for the “H” and cut any excess fabric that my be under the vertical lines of the “H”. This is where I learned a valuable lesson. As you will see…

duh!
duh!

Shrinkage! Yes, I didn’t take into account for seam allowances (1/4″) so, my piece shrank. I was cutting the pieces out of the background fabric (making 2 cuts), when I should have just been making one cut.

So, that’s basically how I create.

Leave a Reply

