Rainbow Brite

Does anyone remember the cartoon character Rainbow Brite? I think my sister really liked her…anyway…a few weeks ago I did some fabric dyeing. Actually, I have been dyeing when time allows for the past few weeks.

My first experience with dyeing fabric was on my 36th birthday. I went by Melody Johnson’s post, “The Lazy Dyer”, on her blog and came up with the results that are the header for my Web site.

For this dye session I followed the instructions in COLOR BY ACCIDENT by Ann Johnston. I mainly concentrated on the chapters “Know Your Primary Colors” and “Mix Two Primary Colors”. My goal was to dye a basic 6-color color wheel for my City and Guilds course.

dye_007_lg.jpg

For my 3 primary colors I use #13 Fuchsia (red), #4 Deep Yellow (yellow), #3 golden yellow (gold) and #25 Turquoise (blue). I purchased my dyes from Dharma Trading Company and used what I had on hand from my Melody Johnson dye session. The fabric I used was Kona cotton PFD also purchased from Dharma.

After dyeing this fabric I experimented with a few more techniques from the book, some Dylon dye and natural dyes. I will try to catch up with my blogging this week. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Brite

  1. Brenda,

    Thanks for the heads-up about the link. It’s fixed now.

    I am enrolled in the 7822-10 Level 2 Patchwork and Quilting Certificate through Linda Kemshall.

    What colors did/do you use as your primaries?

    Heather

Leave a Reply

