Boom…it’s fall! and thoughts on quilting


Fall happened overnight. All of a sudden there were leaves on the ground and the temperature dropped 10° or more. It is very pretty with fantastic colors in the trees and at your feet. I love the leaves and wish we didn’t have to rake them.

Fall Fabric inspired by the leaves on my front walk.

Fall Fabric inspired by the leaves on my front walk.

Now my thoughts on Quilting…

Since 2004 I have been studying quilting. It has mainly been a study by observing what other quilters do and then mimicking them. I have studied with Ann Fahl and Carol Taylor, but the rest has been from observation. My main teachers have been Nancy Crow, Lisa Call, Gail Baar, Robin Ferrier, and Denyse Schmidt…and they, I’m sure, don’t even know it! :)

In 2009 I quit my day job to design quilts full time, but became obsessed with still life painting. Since I haven’t been quilting a lot has changed. In 2010 there was a movement that started showing up…Modern Quilting. Before this time there was traditional quilting and art quilts. To me modern quilting is a combination of traditional and art quilting.

As an art quilter I found it very important to dye my own fabric, so I would have a palette of my very own colors mixed by me! (An artist doesn’t use paint color right out of the tube.) I also found it very important to cut my quilt pieces without a ruler or template. There was also the design wall, where I would audition fabrics and shapes before I would sew it all together.

I’ve been savoring the modern quilts I see online. I love the idea of something that is utilitarian as well as art.

Changes…Blog Version 3.0

I’m rethinking this blog and trying to come up with a definition of what I want to share with you. At the same time I’m rethinking where I want to go with my creativity in the next few years.

More on this soon!

Happy Fall!

3 thoughts on “Boom…it’s fall! and thoughts on quilting

Leave a Reply

